The Terri Lynne Lokoff Teacher Awards

2024 Applications Are Open!


Applications for the 2024 Terri Lynne Lokoff Teachers Awards are now open! Up to 30 early childhood education teachers will be recognized for their hard work and dedication to their classroom, their staff, and most importantly the young learners they are educating. Each award recipient receives a cash prize, a paid trip to the historic city of Philadelphia to participate in the Terri Lynne Lokoff Teacher Awards weekend-long celebration, ongoing opportunities to connect with peers, exchange ideas, as well as ongoing professional learning and program enrichment opportunities. Please see the application requirements below or reach out to for more help!

Start Your Application!
Applying By Mail? Download our PDF Application Here!

Teacher Awards History

In 1994, Kay and Fred Lokoff launched the Terri Lynne Lokoff Child Care Teacher Awards to honor their daughter Terri who was a devoted childcare teacher. The Awards are designed to recognize and celebrate the achievements of outstanding early care and education teachers and bring attention to the critical role these teachers play in the lives of young children.


Sponsored by

Screen Shot 2022-08-15 At 3.43.58 PM

How to Apply

The Teacher Awards acknowledge the critical role of childcare teachers in providing quality early care and education. Childcare teachers from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and on U.S. Military bases and installations around the world are invited to apply.


Eligibility Requirements:

  •  Applicants must be full-time childcare teachers employed in a home, group or center-based program that is fully compliant with local and state regulations for operating childcare programs. Applicants must work a minimum of 32 hours per week, 12 months per year at the same center. Teachers must be with the same children for 10 consecutive months.
  • Applicants must be working as paid, full-time childcare teachers in their current regulated program for a minimum of 36 consecutive months (3 years) by December 2023.
  • Applicants may apply having worked in a teaching position for the same childcare entity for 36 consecutive months (3 years) in more than one location.
  • Applicants employed by a U.S. Military childcare facility in their current location for a minimum of 12 consecutive months.
  • Programs must be open a minimum of 9 hours a day, 5 days a week 12 months per year.
  • Applicants must be teachers of infant, toddler or preschool age children.
  • Only one application per center may be submitted.
  • Full day Head Start with wrap-around care programs. Teachers must be with the same children all day.

The following conditions will render an applicant ineligible:

  • Teacher Award recipients who have won the Award twice.
  • Teachers of part-day Head Start without Wrap-around Care Programs or other part day preschool programs.
  • Teachers of kindergarten children in childcare or other settings.
  • Teachers of school age children in child care settings. (i.e. before/after school programs).
  • Administrative Teachers (staff who have administrative responsibilities that prevent them from being a full-time teacher.)
  • Co-teachers or teaching teams are not eligible to share this award (On one recipient per award).
  • Terri Lynne Lokoff Teacher Award winners from 2019 to present.
  • Projects that include capital improvements to centers/homes will not be considered.
  • Applications completed, revised or modified by anyone other than the applicant (including but not limited to a grant writer, director, or any administrative staff) are not eligible.

Additional information:

  • Only one teacher may be named per application.
  • Multi-site agencies may submit applications for each site.
  • Terri Lynne Lokoff Teacher Award winners from 1994 to 2018 may reapply.
Start Your Application!
Applying By Mail? Download our PDF Application Here!
TLL Teachers Awards-23_0627
TLL Teachers Awards-23_0357 (1)
TLL Teachers Awards-23_0446

Our Terri Lynne Lokoff Teacher Awards 2023 Winners!

The Five

Sherry Mathon - Illinois

Rebecca Cline - Indiana

Jennine Gibbons - Pennsylvania

Michelle Brown - Wisconsin

Kathleen Wolfe - Wisconsin

The 2023 Terri Lynne Lokoff Award Winners

Christina Gutierrez - Arizona

Tina LaBarbera - Illinios

Amanda Conmy - Indiana

Nichole Greene - Iowa

Lakshini Wijeweera - Maryland

Chelsea Brisbin - Nebraska

Sarah Klein - Oregon

Crystal Celender - Pennsylvania

Tina DePativo - Pennsylvania

Julieth Esquivel - Pennsylvania

Briana Fitzgerald - Pennsylvania

Melody Graves - Pennsylvania

Julia Holzworth - Pennsylvania

Thomas Jeffcoat Jr. - Pennsylvania

Sierra Jenkins - Pennsylvania

Vaughn Johnson - Pennsylvania

Festime Kola - Pennsylvania

Andrea LaMar - Pennsylvania

Melissa Matos - Pennsylvania

Selena Mercado - Pennsylvania

Katherine Ruiz Vargas - Pennsylvania

Scotlun Ryan - Pennsylvania

Sylvia Valli Abalos - Utah

Ratoshia Coles - Virginia

Interested In Learning More? Contact Us Today!

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Please support First Up's work by making a tax-deductible donation

Please support all ECE teachers and students by advocating for resources